This web site requires JavaScript to be turned on in your browser. If you have received this message your browser has JavaScript turned off.
Magellan Health Services


Industry Accreditations

National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)

NCQA is a national organization that accredits both Managed Behavioral Health Organizations (MBHOs) and Managed Care Organizations (MCOs). Magellan leads the industry in NCQA accreditation and is uniquely positioned to work with MCO customers to take full advantage of new NCQA standards and guidelines.

Magellan's 11 three-year-full NCQA-accredited sites include:


Eastern Pennsylvania



King of Prussia

Massachusetts/Rhode Island



New Jersey




American Accreditation Health Care Commission/URAC

34 Magellan sites have been granted "Full Re-Accreditation" by the American Accreditation Health Care Commission under the Health Utilization Management Standards. URAC accreditation is an indication that a managed care organization has the necessary structures and processes to promote high quality care and preserve patient rights.

Council on Accreditation (COA)/Employee Assistance Society of North America (EASNA)

Magellan has full four-year Employee Assistance Program (EAP) Accreditation from the Council on Accreditation (COA) in conjunction with the Employee Assistance Society of North America (EASNA). Magellan is the first and only managed behavioral health organization (MBHO) to have this distinction. Magellan is also one of one of only six EAP vendors in the US and Canada to hold joint accreditation with EASNA and COA. In fact, Magellan helped COA in the development of these standards by participating in the beta rollout of the program in 2000.

The accreditation recognizes Magellan Health Services for meeting rigorous standards for professional performance in the delivery of high quality EAP services. Magellan's full four-year COA accreditation for EAP services runs through January of 2007.

This page last updated: May 09, 2011.
In The News